I VAJIRAM & RAVI I

- While the EU wants the treaty to be legally binding, the U.S., Brazil and India have expressed reservations
 about the same. The legal nature of the treaty is yet to be defined.
- Treaty only provides recommendations for tackling a particular issue.

Article 19 of the WHO Constitution

- It gives World Health Assembly the authority to adopt conventions or agreements on matters of health.
 - A two-third majority is needed to adopt such conventions or agreements.
- WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control was set up under Article 19 and it came into force in 2005.

Bucharest Nine

- The Bucharest Nine or Bucharest Format, often abbreviated as the B9, was founded on November 4, 2015 and takes its name from Bucharest, the capital of Romania.
- It is a group of <u>nine NATO countries in Eastern Europe</u> that became part of the US-led military alliance after the end of the Cold War.
- All members of the B9 are part of the European Union (EU)
- B9 is also regarded as the <u>voice of the Eastern Flank in the NATO</u> alliance.



Composition

- Member of B9 include Romania, Poland, Hungary, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, and the three Baltic republics of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania.
- o **Romania, Poland, Hungary, and Bulgaria** are former signatories of the now dissolved <u>Warsaw Pact military</u> <u>alliance led by the Soviet Union.</u>
- o Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania were part of the former Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR).

Three Seas Initiative

- B9 should not be confused with Three Seas Initiative (3SI).
- 3SI is a regional effort in Europe to expand <u>cross-border energy, transportation, and digital infrastructure</u> and boost economic development in the area between the **Adriatic Sea, Baltic Sea, and Black Sea.**
- Twelve countries (Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, and Slovenia), all of which are members of the EU, participate in the 3SI.

India signs Host Country Agreement with ITU

- India signed the Host Country Agreement (HCA) with the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) for the establishment of an Area Office & Innovation Centre of ITU in New Delhi.
- The Host Country Agreement provides the legal and financial framework for establishment and operations
 of the Area Office.

Key details

- The Area Office and Innovation Centre of ITU at New Delhi is expected to serve South Asian countries namely Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Iran, Maldives, Nepal, Sri Lanka and India.
- The Area Office shall also have an Innovation Centre, which is expected to give impetus to R&D in telecommunication technologies in South Asia.
- The Innovation Centre will provide opportunities to academics, start-ups and SMEs to showcase their innovation at a global stage.