India, Burma, Ceylon, Malya were under British control in Asia. Indo-China was under French and Indonesia was under Dutch control. China was not under direct control of a single power, but was divided into 'spheres of influence' by major powers and was hence, reduced to status of an international colony. It was 'Boxer Rebellion' of 1899 which prevented the dismemberment of China. In 1900, in what became known as the Boxer Rebellion (or the Boxer Uprising), a Chinese secret organization called the Society of the Righteous and Harmonious Fists led an uprising in northern China against the spread of Western and Japanese influence there. At first, the Boxers wanted to destroy the Qing/Manchu dynasty (which had ruled China for over 250 years) and wanted to rid China of all foreign influence (which they considered a threat to Chinese culture). When the Empress Dowager backed the Boxers, the Boxers turned solely to ridding China of foreigners. The rebels, referred to by Westerners as Boxers because they performed physical exercises they believed would make them able to withstand bullets, killed foreigners and Chinese Christians and destroyed foreign property. Although the Boxers came from various parts of society, many were peasants, particularly from Shandong province, which had been struck by natural disasters such as famine and flooding. In the 1890s, China had given territorial and commercial concessions in this area to several European nations, and the Boxers blamed their poor standard of living on foreigners who were colonizing their country. From June to August, the Boxers besieged the foreign district of Beijing (then called Peking), China's capital, until an international force that included American troops subdued the uprising. The rebellion was however suppressed by joint Anglo-German-Russian-French-Japanese which occupied Beijing, but it averted the partition of China. By the terms of the Boxer Protocol, which officially ended the rebellion in 1901, China agreed to pay more than \$330 million in reparations. The Qing/Manchu dynasty, established in 1644, was weakened by the Boxer Rebellion. Following an uprising in 1911 -termed as Chinese Revolution - the dynasty came to an end and China became a republic in 1912 with Sun Yet Sen as its president. The combination of increasing imperialist demands (from both Japan and the West), frustration with the foreign Manchu Government embodied by the Qing court, and the desire to see a unified China less parochial in outlook fed a growing nationalism that spurred on revolutionary ideas.

Similarly, Iran was also divided into three spheres of influence in 1907. Russia dominated the northwest, Britain dominated the southern part and central was a buffer between the two. Britain also had some influence in Afghanistan. Central Asia was largely under the influence of Russian Empire and Japan was the only major country in Asia which was independent. Japan had defeated China in 1897 and had occupied Formosa (today's Taiwan). Japan had also defeated Russia in 1910 and had occupied South Korea.

Africa with the exception of a few countries like Ethiopia and Liberia was divided among the European powers by beginning of 19<sup>th</sup> century. Britain had control over Egypt, Sudan, Rhodesia or Zimbabwe, Uganda, Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda etc. French had control over Algeria, Tunisia, Morocco, Sahara, French Congo, Madagascar etc. Other colonial powers also had other stakes like – Germany occupied parts of East Africa, South West Africa, Cameroon, Togoland etc, Italy occupied Libya and Somalia. Italian ambitions to conquer Ethiopia came to a