



- Settlement of a boundary dispute between India and another country <u>does not require a constitutional amendment</u> (<u>Under Art. 368</u>). It can be <u>done by executive action</u> as it does <u>not involve cession</u> of Indian territory to a foreign country.
- Before 1956, the states were classified into four parts-
 - \circ **Part A** 9 former governor's provinces
 - Part B 9 former princely states
 - Part C former princely states + chief commissioners provinces
 - o Part D Andaman and Nicobar
- By the States Re-organization Act (1956) and the 7th Constitutional Amendment Act (1956), the four-fold division of state were abolished.

7 th Constitutional Amendment Act 1956 - Led to creation of Zonal councils in india to advise on matters of common interest. They statutory in origin. Total 5 zonal councils exist in India. However, North-Eastern zonal council is created by separate statute in 1971 (North Eastern Council Act, 1972). The chairman of the Zonal council is Union Home Minister and Chief Ministers of the States included in each zone act as Vice-Chairman of the Zonal Council for that zone by rotation, each holding office for a period of one year at a time.

EVOLUTIONARY HISTORY OF STATES AND UTS

INTEGRATION OF PRINCELY STATES (SARDAR VALLABHAI PATEL WAS MAIN FORCE BEHIND)

- India had comprised <u>two categories</u> of political units -
 - The **British provinces** (under the direct rule of British government)
 - o The **princely states** (under the rule of native princes but subject to the paramountcy of the British Crown).
- The <u>Indian Independence Act (1947)</u> created two independent and separate dominions of India and Pakistan and <u>gave three options</u> to the princely states
 - o Joining India
 - o Joining Pakistan
 - o Remaining independent.
- Of the <u>552 princely states</u> situated within the geographical boundaries of India, 549 joined India and the remaining <u>3 (Hyderabad, Junagarh and Kashmir) refused to join India</u>.
- In course of time, they were also integrated with India—
 - Hyderabad by means of police action (Operation POLO)
 - o Junagarh by means of referendum
 - o Kashmir by the Instrument of Accession.

DHAR COMMISSION AND JVP COMMITTEE (1948)

- The integration of princely states with the rest of India has purely an ad hoc arrangement.
- Government of India appointed the Linguistic Provinces Commission under the chairmanship of <u>S.K. Dhar in</u> <u>1948</u> to examine the feasibility and evolution of an objective criteria.
- Committee recommended the reorganization of states on the basis of administrative convenience rather than linguistic factor.
- Disappointment with Dhar committee led to the appointment of another Linguistic Provinces Committee
 - in 1948 consist of Jawaharlal Nehru, Vallabhai Patel and Pattabhi Sitaramayya, itself to examine the whole question afresh.
- JVP committee formally <u>rejected language as the basis for reorganisation</u> of states.

FAZL ALI COMMISSION (1953)

- The creation of Andhra state in 1953 intensified the demand from other regions for creation of states **on linguistic basis**.
- This forced the Government to appoint a <u>three- member States Reorganisation Commission</u> in 1953, under the of to re-examine the whole question.

UT of **Delhi** was redesignated as National Capital Territory (NCT) according to 69th Constitutional Amendment Act 1991.

Andhra State Act, 1953 - Formed the first linguistic state, known as the State of Andhra, by taking out the Telugu speaking areas from the State of Madras. Kurnool was the capital of Andhra State and the state high court was established at Guntur.