- differentiated between the labour in the Indian-owned factories and those in the British-owned factories;
- believed that labour legislations would affect the competitive edge enjoyed by the Indianowned industries;
- did not want a division in the movement on the basis of classes;
- **b** did not support the Factory Acts of 1881 and 1891 for these reasons.
- 1870: Sasipada Banerjea started a workingmen's club and newspaper Bharat Shramjeevi.
- 1878: Sorabjee Shapoorji Bengalee tried to get a bill, providing better working conditions to labour, passed in the Bombay Legislative Council.
- 1880: Narain Meghajee Lokhanday started the newspaper Deenbandhu and set up the Bombay Mill and Millhands Association.
- **1899** The first strike by the Great Indian Peninsular Railways took place, and it got widespread support.

All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC)

- AITUC was founded on October 31, 1920.
- The Indian National Congress president for the year, Lala Lajpat Rai, was elected as the first president of AITUC and Dewan Chaman Lal as the first general secretary.
- Lajpat Rai was the first to link capitalism with imperialism— "imperialism and militarism are the twin children of capitalism".
- The Gaya session of the Congress (1922) welcomed the formation of the AITUC and a committee was formed to assist it.

Trade Union Act, 1926

- Recognised trade unions as legal associations
- Laid down conditions for registration and regulation of trade union activities
- **Secured immunity, both civil and criminal**, for trade unions from prosecution for legitimate activities, but put some restrictions on their political activities.

Trade Disputes Act, 1929

- Made compulsory the appointment of Courts of Inquiry and Consultation Boards for settling industrial disputes;
- Made illegal the strikes in public utility services like posts, railways, water and electricity, unless each individual worker planning to go on strike gave an advance notice of one month to the administration;
- Forbade trade union activity of coercive or purely political nature and even sympathetic strikes.

Meerut Conspiracy Case (1929)

 In March 1929, the Government arrested 31 labour leaders, and the three-and-a-half-year trial resulted in the conviction of Muzaffar Ahmed, S.A. Dange, Joglekar, Philip Spratt, Ben Bradley, Shaukat Usmani and others.

