SFG 2022 | LEVEL 2 | Test 1 – Solutions | Forum AS



Ans) c

Exp) Option c is correct.

The constitution of India was adopted by the constituent assembly in English. A Hindi translation of the constitution signed by the members of the constituent Assembly was also published in 1950 under the authority of the president of the Constituent Assembly in accordance with a resolution adopted by that Assembly.

Statement 1 is correct.

The original Constitution was handwritten in Hindi and English with calligraphy by Prem Behari Narain

The original copies of the Constitution are kept in special helium-filled cases in the Parliament's library.

Statement 2 is correct.

Originally, the Constitution of India did not make any provision with respect to an authoritative text of the Constitution in the Hindi language. Later, a provision in this regard was made by the 58th Constitutional **Amendment Act of 1987.** This amendment inserted a new Article 394-A in the last part of the Constitution i.e., Part XXII

The 58th Constitution Amendment Act, 1987 inserted Article 394-A in Part XXII of the Constitution. The provisions of Article 394-A includes that the **President shall cause to be published under his authority**:

- 1) The translation of the Constitution in Hindi language. The modifications which are necessary to bring it in conformity with the language, style and terminology adopted in the authoritative texts of the Central Acts in Hindi can be made in it.
- 2) The translation in Hindi of every amendment of the constitution made in English.

Source: Laxmikanth Chapter 2 Making of the Constitution

Q.13) Consider the following statements:

- 1. Communist Party did not win any seats in the elections to the Constituent Assembly of India in 1946.
- 2. Unionist Party was the second largest party after Indian National Congress in the Constituent Assembly of

Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

- a) 1 only
- b) 2 only
- c) Both 1 and 2
- d) Neither 1 nor 2

Ans) d

Exp) Option d is correct.

The Constitution of India was drafted by the Constituent Assembly, and it was implemented under the Cabinet Mission Plan on 16 May 1946. The members of the Constituent Assembly were elected by the provincial assemblies by a single, transferable-vote system of proportional representation. The total membership of the Constituent Assembly was 389 of which 292 were representatives of the provinces, 93 represented the princely states and four were from the chief commissioner provinces of Delhi, Ajmer-Merwara, Coorg and British Baluchistan.

Statement 1 is incorrect.

The Congress Party held a large majority in the Assembly (69 percent of the seats), and the Muslim League held nearly all the seats reserved in the Assembly for Muslims. There were also members of smaller parties, such as the Scheduled Caste Federation, the Communist Party of India and the Unionist Party. Communist Party of India got 1 seat in the Constituent Assembly.

Statement 2 is incorrect.