In concluding, I would like to thank Justice M. N. Venkatachaliah, former Chief Justice of India, Justice R. C. Lahoti, former Chief Justice of India, Justice Y.K. Sabharwal, former Chief Justice of India, Justice N. Venkatchala, retired Judge of the Supreme Court, Justice B.N. Srikrishna, retired Judge of the Supreme Court and presently Chairman of the Sixth Pay Commission, Shri K. Padmanabhaiah, former Union Home Secretary, Shri Prakash Singh, former DG, BSF, Shri K.T.S. Tulsi, eminent lawyer and Shri Nikhil Kumar, M.P. for sharing valuable insights with us during our discussions. I may emphasise, however, that the views expressed in this Report are of the Commission's alone.

H. Venoppe Holf

New Delhi June 1, 2007 (M. Veerappa Moily) Chairman